SUNSHINE ON AN OLD HORSES BACK (riding on the Melbourne to Caulfied train 1980)

DAVID, OLD MAN,
HAS BLOOD SPOTS ON A DIRT COLLAR
AND SORE, SO SORE
WRINKLED SHAVED CHEEKS.
 
DAVID, A MENACE IN BLUE SPARKLING EYES,
HAS SWOLLEN GUMS AND TWISTED TEETH,
AND BAGGY RUMPLED SCOTTISH SUIT,
HE SWEATS INSIDE OF A SAID 72 YEARS.
 
FREE DAY AT THE RACES…
DON’T GET OUT MUCH, BUT IT’S A FREE DAY.
TODAY IS FREE. I’VE BEEN
FIFTY YEARS GOING TO THE RACES.
THE QUEEN. SHE LIKES THE HORSES. I THINK
AAH…SHE’S BRILLIANT.
BRILLIANT! GOOD NAME FOR A HORSE!
 
I’M SORRY, I DESERTED.
DESERTED I IN THE WAR. GOT LOOSE.
I HAD TO. I’M CATHOLIC.
WELL I WAS UNTIL I WOKE UP 14 YEARS AGO.
I FLED, I
COULDN’T FIGHT. GERMANY….ITALY.
ALL CATHOLIC. CAN’T FIGHT YOUR OWN.
I LIKE JAPAN TOO.
 
DAVIDS STALE BLOOD
CUT BY THE WHIPPING,
AND THE GREY SWEAT RUNS OFF HIS NECK.
BLUE BABY EYES LIKE CRYSTALS
IMAGE TEARS, A SMILE THROUGH THE SUNLIGHT
IN THE WINDOW.
 
I’VE COME TO TALK TO YOU.
I BELIEVE IN THE FUTURE.
I BELIEVE IN THE SUPERSONIC AGE.
IN THE FUTURE.
I KNOW THE SPIRITUAL SIDE.
DON’T BELIEVE IT, BUT I KNOW IT.
 
IT’S A GOOD DAY. IT’S A FREE DAY.
A GOOD FREE PEACE DAY ALREADY HAVING.
ENJOYING THE CONVERSATION.
THE SUN WILL BE SHINING ON THE HORSES BACKS.
ON THE HORSES BACKS THE SUN WILL BE SHINING.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
(c)copyright julie mcneill 2006
all rights reserved
 
 
Leave a Reply

