A Novel project in progress for 2014

JANUS – JANUARY 2014

 There is one story about Cromwell and his Roundheads which you may not realise you know.

The nursery rhyme

Goosey goosey gander,
Where shall I wander,
Upstairs and downstairs
And in my lady’s chamber.
There I met an old man
Who wouldn’t say his prayers,
So I took him by the left leg
And threw him downstairs.

This refers to “goose-stepping” Roundheads who would search houses for Royalists. Anyone who refused to accept Puritan ways was arrested and thrown in jail.http://www.hinchhouse.org.uk/civilwar/oliver.html

As I worked my way down my maternal family tree from Birmingham of my birth to London I was story struck by this baptism register:

Thomasine 1655

17 July 1655. ‘William Clark, son of John Clark, a soldier and Thomasine his wife who herself went for a souldier and was billeted at the Three Hammers in East Smithfield about seven months and after was delivered of this child, the 16th day of this July, and was baptized the 17th in her lodging, being one Mr.Hubber’s house. She had been a souldier by her own confession about five years and was sometime drummer to the company.’

It is probable that my family were part of the revolution to an English Republic – a time which left a Parliamentary legacy to us in the Commonwealth. I imagine the shock entering a grand home of the top 1percent who held all the wealth and wondered whether God really meant for them to be in Hovels…..

Time travelling

Red Coat in 1649 and 2014

 

So began THE OBSESSION OF MY 11th Great Grandmother Thomasine Cannaday born in the Parish of Stepney, baptised at St. John of Wapping C of E 11 March 1632. Daughter of Hugh, a Mariner and Rope Maker. Resident at Gun Alley.

Then the first civil war began. The separation of powers was fought in blood and mayhem. The East London folk built barricades in 1642 to defend themselves against their own King – Charles 1st…

It was Providence which ruled by an omnipotent God. Everybody was chosen by God from the King to my common ancestors, Thomasine and John who I found baptising their son at St Botolph without Aldgate in 1655.

Somebody must have leaked the event to the song-writer Laurence Price…..

My Great Grandmother 12 generations past.

 

 

Leave a Reply

